Updates on the LED Matrix display

This post is in an update to my previous entry on creating an LED Matrix display. If you haven’t read it yet, go check it out.

I want to use my display as a wall clock when it isn’t playing movies or animations. Luckily, WLED is open source and is relatively easy to update and modify. I proceeded to add a 2D Analog Clock effect and created a pull request.

Naturally, I wanted to have some nice anti-aliased lines, so that was another thing to implement. Luckily, it’s not rocket science and Jack Bresenham already created algorithms to do exactly this. All it takes is just a little bit of typing and we’re good to go.

The display already connects to the internet and has an NTP client built in, so within a few seconds of applying power it has the clock correctly set. Hopefully it also has fixes for daylight savings.

My hope is that this effect will get added in as a standard effect. Since I’m just a new contributor to the repo I’m not sure how long that would take. In the mean time you can get a precompiled version here for the ESP32, or take a look at my 0.14.3 branch and roll your own. There seem to be some issues with the 0_15 branch, so it’s best to use the 0.14.3 version. That is what the precompiled version uses as well. The pull request is for the 0_15 branch which I’m sure will get fixed as the team is pretty responsive.

Leave a comment